The Government has invited Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland to develop proposals to reduce the number of councils and create new unitary authorities.

The seven district and borough councils in Leicestershire and Rutland County Council are working together to develop proposals which will deliver high-quality and sustainable public services for local communities.

From the work we have carried out, a preferred approach for local government structures in Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland is emerging.

That approach is for three unitary councils for the area:

One to serve North Leicestershire and Rutland (an area currently served by Charnwood, North West Leicestershire and Melton district and borough councils, and Rutland County Council)

One for South Leicestershire (an area currently served by Blaby, Harborough, Hinckley & Bosworth and Oadby & Wigston district and borough councils)

One for the city of Leicester (based on its existing boundaries)

This emerging preferred approach offers a number of benefits:

Three well-balanced unitary councils serving a similar number of residents

- Simpler local government structures so it is easier to understand who does what
- Councils that are more local, accessible and accountable
- More representative of existing places and how people live their lives
- Makes significant savings
- Keeps issues like planning closer to communities
- Enables Devolution and supports the creation of a Mayor for Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland

- Provides the best balance between strategic and operation and will fit better with the new strategic authority
- Aligns with other local public service boundaries
- The right size and alignment for local collaboration and to work with other agencies on prevention

Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland would continue to be served by three social care authorities

The Government has outlined that areas must submit an interim plan for local government reorganisation by 21 March 2025.